LibGuides: Dentistry Specialty Guide: Search the Evidence

Unfiltered Resources

Unfiltered resources are primary or original research such as randomized controlled trials, cohort studies, and case-controlled studies.

ClinicalKey
Database of online books, journals, procedure videos, multimedia, drug monographs, and practice guidelines published by Elsevier.
Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source
Database that includes full text, indexing and abstracting for hundreds of journals, books, monographs, magazines and trade periodicals covering dentistry and oral sciences.
Ovid MEDLINE
Ovid interface to search MEDLINE, the premier biomedical literature database containing over 27 million references from 5,200 biomedical journals, dating from 1966 to present.
PubMed
National Library of Medicine's free interface to access MEDLINE, the premier biomedical literature database containing over 27 million references from 5,200 biomedical journals, dating from 1966 to present.

Filtered Resources

Filtered resources are secondary resources that appraise and synthesize evidence and provide recommendations for practice. Examples include systematic reviews, meta-analyses, practice guidelines, and critically appraised topics.

ClinicalKey
Database of online books, journals, procedure videos, multimedia, drug monographs, and practice guidelines published by Elsevier.
The Cochrane Library (via Ovid)
Collection of databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making comprised of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, ACP Journal Club, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Clinical Answers, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment, NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Dentistry and Oral Sciences Source
Database that includes full text, indexing and abstracting for hundreds of journals, books, monographs, magazines and trade periodicals covering dentistry and oral sciences.
Essential Evidence Plus & AHFS DI Essentials
Evidence-based clinical decision support system featuring over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, tools, images, and summaries covering the most common conditions, diseases, and procedures clinicians come in contact with every day.
PubMed
National Library of Medicine's free interface to access MEDLINE, the premier biomedical literature database containing over 27 million references from 5,200 biomedical journals, dating from 1966 to present.
Trip Medical Database
A free database to find high quality clinical research evidence.
UpToDate
Clinical decision support tool with comprehensive synthesis of the evidence, followed by recommendations that can be acted on at the point of care.
UpToDate Lexidrug for Dentistry
Dental-specific evidence-based referential drug database for prescribing, fulfilling, and administering medications.

Assistance

Staffed Hours
closed

Remote Access
Please use OpenAthens for remote or off-network access. For access issues while on the DHA network, contact the VML for assistance.